Who makes the best zinfandels these days?

Who do you say makes the best zinfandels these days?
Thanks for your perspectives and insights. [cheers.gif]

What style do you tend to like? A lot of people love producers like Carlisle, but I like old school, structured, restrained fruit, so I’m still a Ridge fan.

Cheers,
-Robert

I’m no Zin expert or even fan for the most part, but I would say that the Ravenswood Old Hill bottling is very elegant for a Zin. A big step up from most. Tanzer/IWC seems to agree.

Joeseph Swan.

In addition to Swan and Carlisle, don’t forget Outpost.

Ridge for me. Search Mike Didine’s posts of TN’s. He’s forgotten more about Zinfandel and vineyard history than I’ll ever know. Or, wait for him to respond to this thread to add a few more to the already good suggestions.

Anthony, thank you! But in reality - I’ve just started to scratch the surface.

My answer off the top of my head would be (no particulary order) Mike Officer, Paul Draper, Ehren Jordan, Fred Scherrer, Morgan Twain-Peterson, Joel Peterson, Bob Cabral, Helen Turley, Rod Berglund. Thomas Rivers Brown, Nick Stez, Jeff Mangahas and Ted Seghesio do the variety justice as does Richard Arrowood. Tom Dehlinger will come out with an old vine zin this Spring.

Focus on the vineyards. Each of the above (and many that I haven’t discovered yet) work with grapes from exceptional (mostly historic) vineyards.

Alex, have you been under a rock someplace? Zinfandel’s been a major topic of conversation around here. [snort.gif]

Bedrock, Carlisle, Turley, Outpost, Brown, Rafanelli, Black Sears and Williams Selyem would make my short list. Looking forward to trying the new release Dehlinger in 2011.

Tom

My favorite recent Zin was from Fred Scherrer. He makes very beautiful and balanced (not powerhouse) renditions of the grape.

[worship.gif] [worship.gif] [worship.gif]

I’d love to see what Jeff Brinkman could do with a great old-zin vineyard! [wink.gif]