Bottle shock? I don't need no stinkin' bottle shock!

A week-and-a-half ago, I got four cases of wine shipped to me from my off-site facility in CA. Among the contents were various Saxum and Rhys bottlings, and I have never tried anything from either winery before. Recognizing the concern about bottle shock, I tried very hard to ignore these new family members. I broke down yesterday and pulled a 2007 Copain Baker Ranch Syrah when I got home from work – I love me some Copain!

Anyway, the first glass was a touch hard and monolithic. I sensed the potential, but the fruit was muted. What came through was a very intriguing chalk and white pepper personality with a hint of stems. I put the bottle away until today, and everything has come into balance. I still get the chalk and white pepper, but now I also get blue-black fruit, a medium to long finish, and nice floral aromatics. This relatively inexpensive Copain is going to be really good about a year from now. I attribute its slow start out of the gate more to youth than shock.

I am still going to wait a few months on those Rhys and Saxum until I am sure bottle shock won’t be a factor.

Brad, I don’t believe in bottle shock for such yong wines…
Just one mans opinion. [drinkers.gif]

My classic example of bottle shock is Pride cab. Until this year, thet shipped almost immediately after bottling.
The difference between opening one immediately after receiving them, and 6 months later was amazing.

Just to be pedantic I think we are talking about travel shock versus bottle shock. Wells’ recent Pinots are built for aging versus immediate gratification. Many of the Rhys bottles are the same. Your Saxums should be good to go with a decant, especially the 06’s. Leaving the 05’s to sleep personally.

I don’t necessarily believe in it myself. Maybe I’m being superstitious, but I’ll still drink other stuff for the next few months.