Relatively Recent 1996 First Growth Notes Over Dinner.

Greetings, All.

I was invited by Melissa McCall to join this board. Briefly, I’m a 40-something lawyer (married, 3 sons) who lives in the Philippines and is obsessed with wine, food and pairing. I grew up drinking French wine because of my father, hence my strong preference for French wines, mainly Bordeaux, Burgundy. I do very much enjoy wines from Italy and Spain as well.

These are my notes (as well as a few photos) from a 1996 horizontal 1st growth horizontal dinner, 7 friends in all, held on the 29th June 2008 at one of the participant’s wine shop.

With pass-arounds of Sautéed Scallops with Braised Oxtail and Microgreens, and, Beignet de Brandade with Tomato Confit:

1996 Veuve Clicquot “La Grande Dame” - I think this is the first time I tried this vintage of La Grande Dame as, to the best of my (ailing) memory, I recall having had only the '89, '90 and '95. Clean, pure white fruit attack turns floral, very toasty and mildly yeasty the moment it hits mid-palate, where it expands generously and gains substantial creaminess towards the back. Sucking in a bit of air once the bubbles allow emphasizes the toastiness. This bubbly certainly wasn’t shy; it was eager to please, displayed proudly mid-mouth with a funneling exit of added citrus notes.

1996 Dom Pérignon - We’ve had this many times and I’ve written at least 2 tasting notes since early 2005 when I first tried it, the last written notes I’ve found being from early December 2006:

Dom Perignon 1996 - A gift to me by the Doc, I brought it to go with the starters. We’ve gone through many, many bottles of this over the last couple of years, and it remains as bright and linear as ever. My old notes state: