Top domastic Riesling producers?

I very much enjoy German vitners and even more the Alsatian producers! But I couldn’t really think of domestic producers that I felt were great. I’m completely open to suggestions…admitedly I have zero experience with the New York brethren/sisterhood. Is this were I should be looking?

Btw, I’ve ordered the Bedrock offerings the last 3 years, but have yet to open any.

1 Like

Check out Project M and Navarro.

1 Like

Lem,
Two of the really good Calif Riesling vnyds are the Enz in SanBenitoCnty/CienegaVlly and ColeRanch up in MendocinoCnty.
Bedrock makes quite good Rieslings from those two vnyds. Ryan Stirm is on the forefront of pushing Calif Riesling to greatness,
also from those two vnyds. The McFaddenRanch up in the PotterVlly/MendoCnty also produces very good Riesling.
A lot of people are very fond of the Navarro Rieslings up in the AndersonVlly, but they don’t have the minerality I like in Calif Riesling.
Tom

1 Like

There are a handful of producers making noteworthy Rieslings in Oregon. Goodfellow, Pierce, Trisaetum, Paetra, etc. Bill Hooper at Paetra completed his degree and interned in Germany.

2 Likes

Well, Len…you should really open one up to try. They’re generally quite good right out the gate. And they
can age very well.
Tom

Navarro’s late harvest rieslings are generally excellent – with great depth and complexity.

I stumbled on the table of Weis Vineyards of the Finger Lakes, NY, at the Hudson Valley Food & Wine Festival last year and was quite impressed with both the dry, off-dry and sweet rieslings. The owner and winemaker is a young guy who grew up in Zell in the Mosel Valley.

Of course, there has been a huge improvement in qualify in the Finger Lakes in the last couple of decades and there are a number of good riesling producers. Dr Konstantin Frank and Hermann Wiemer are the best distributed.

2 Likes

Both their Late Harvest Riesling and Gewürztraminer are stellar.

1 Like

Red Newt Cellars - New York