TN: 2011 Produttori del Barbaresco Barbaresco Riserva Montefico

Had this tonight. Just great. I’m far from a Nebbiolo expert. I drink maybe 50 bottles a year, but with it’s deep rich spiced cherry fruit, this has me reminiscing of the one and only time I’ve had a Bartolo Mascarello Barolo. Simply a great wine. Open for business, yet in its early stages of drinking.

• 2011 Produttori del Barbaresco Barbaresco Riserva Montefico - Italy, Piedmont, Langhe, Barbaresco (5/22/2022)
    This pours medium ruby in the glass. The nose is very expressive and moderately complex showing gorgeous classic nebbiolo notes of dark cherry, cherry licorice, spiced cherry, orange pekoe tea, earl grey tea, new leather, chai tea, and rosemary. Over time the nose becomes more floral showing rose petal and peonies. The palate is fabulous entering on deep cherry, cherry licorice, turning to medium plus tannin, and medium plus acid. The finish is long replaying the cherry and tea notes of the nose. Amazing stuff. I may even be underrating it a tad. I have to admit that the power of this wine combined with the traditional winemaking style make this extraordinarily compelling today. Drinking in a great spot, but I have little doubt about its longevity. (94 pts.)
5 Likes

Thank you for this. I have been seeing a few sceptical notes on PdB riservas, questioning the ageability, but yours does the opposite. I don’t have any 2011 but I have a good few from 2013, 2014 and especially 2016 that it would be a bummer if they all matured too quickly.

Not sure who or why anyone would be skeptical about ageability on PdB Riservas. I just had a '62 on Saturday that was fresh as a daisy and singing, WOTN.

This. Produttoris are among some of the longest-lived Barbarescos I know and I can’t remember anybody questioning the ageability of PdB Riservas. All the older ones that I’ve had have been beautiful, yet to go downhill.

I just had a '62 on Saturday that was fresh as a daisy and singing, WOTN.