Upcoming Napa Trip - Particular wines to taste at these wineries?

I will be in Napa in mid-October and have great visits lined up. Looking for suggestions from the board for particular wines to ask to taste (understanding that they have no obligation to accommodate any request, particularly with respect to older vintages). I also welcome any feedback as to whether or not it is appropriate to make such requests. Wineries with * are ones that are new to me.
Here is my list
TOR
Pulido-Walker*
Rivers-Marie
Adamvs*
Myriad/Mike Smith
Vice Versa
Nine Suns
Memento Mori
Seven Apart*
Kinsman-Eades
Arrow & Branch*
Bevan

Thanks pileon

1 Like

Here are a few suggestions based on palate preference and recent tastings:

TOR - Vine Hill Ranch
Rivers-Marie - Herb Lamb
Vice Versa - BTK, Crane, Beatrix
Memento Mori - Flagship, LPV, Crane
Kinsman-Eades - whatever Shae is pouring
Arrow & Branch* - Right Bank, Crane, Cab Franc
Bevan - Dr. Crane, Sentinel, Harbison, EE

2 Likes

I’ve extensive experience with only Rivers Marie & Bevan on your list, just a bottle here or there of some others on your list.

Rivers Marie-
The Chards and Pinots are special, particularly the Thieriot Chard, Summa & Silver Eagle pinots (imo). One of my favorite meals last year was a Duck L’Orange paired with their Summa, was heavenly.
The one Rivers Marie cab I keep coming back to is the Lore (new name: Oakville Terrace). If I had to choose, I’d buy one Lore over two Napa Valley bottles (and I like their NV bottle).

Bevan-
I think Bevan makes one of the best Sauv Blancs in CA, theirs is from Bennet Valley.
The Tench Cab bottlings are all pretty special IMO (Tench, EE & Calixtro). I’ve also really enjoyed the SugarLoaf as they’ve aged (merlot, cab franc blend).

2 Likes

Is requesting an unlisted, older/specific vintage of wine at a tasting room a thing? I’ve never done it, have always tried what they are willing to pour.