CHICOTOT

Friends,

I plan to visit domaine CHICOTOT in NUITS coming spring. Since I have no experience whatsoever with their wines anyone out there to give some advice? I got hold of an allocation containing Les Saint Georges, Vaucrains, Pruliers and Saint Julien. This last wine because of the fantastic memories I have from the cuvée made by DANIEL BOCQUENET.

SINCERELY JOHAN

Been awhile since I heard this name.

Friends,

The modest response to the question is already delivering the answer: CHICOTOT is not a household name. Neither Alan Meadows, nor William Kelley and Neal Martin write about the domaine. Only BETTANE & DESSAUVE awarded CHICOTOT 3 stars. Steen Öhman did write about the domaine but considered the style a bit too robust for his taste. Without any help from my friends I’ll have to find the answer on my own.

SINCERELY JOHAN

Johan, the last time I had a Chicotot wine was from either the late 80’s (maybe 1988?) and I think 1990, so my thoughts wouldn’t be much value to you. There was nothing special about it, but I do remember drinking it.

Some reviews and a write up form me are coming out in a few weeks, Johan!

Clément Chicotot is doing some very ambitious vineyard work: permaculture, no/minimal hedging, etc, and seems to put the hours in in the vineyards. When tasting the wines, the quality of the raw materials is evident, so the only way is up. I would expect you’ll be hearing more about this address in the years to come.

Another you should put on your radar is Pierrick Bouley.

William,

Thank you very much. I appreciate you took the trouble to answer. Be looking for any of your upcoming tasting notes published in WA.

A very grateful JOHAN

William,

Is BOULEY another NUITS producer?

SINCERELY JOHAN

No, Volnay. Formerly Domaine Réyane & Pascal Bouley.