Becky Wasserman RIP

I just heard she passed away last night.

She was a pioneer and leader in bringing high quality Burgundy to the US. She had a great interview with Levi I recommend listening to.

RIP.

6 Likes

Damn. RIP . . .

A terrible loss.

What a shame. She has a great episode on Levi’s podcast.

Wow. Major loss. RIP and thank you for your life’s work.

As a (much younger) writer, Becky always took people like me under her wing and had done so for a generation, or two, of writers. There was never anyone like her before and there still isn’t - she opened a lot of doors for a lot of people… RIP

6 Likes

Wow, a true legend and groundbreaker. RIP.

Horrible news. To imagine all of the experiences she would have racked up as such an important part of burgundy expansion and history is impressive - RIP. There’s probably lots of history still resting in her cellar(s).

Such sad news! First met her when I was a student and most recently saw her for lunch the day before I left France for the summer. What a big-hearted, generous, and kind spirit she was!

I was in business with her for many years. So many things I could say.
As Wm Kelley points out, she had a big heart and a kind spirit.

For so many she was the bridge between the West Coast and the Cote d Or. Clendenen is the best example.

1 Like

I had the pleasure of meeting her a couple of times, including a dinner with Sandy Block MW up in Boston. Condolences to Peter, Paul and the rest of the family.

For someone so prominent, she was incredibly generous in meeting with me on a couple of different occasions to discuss my ideas for VinConnect. An icon, but so open, kind and patient in explaining the business of Burgundy to an outsider. I can only imagine how helpful she has been to so many others over decades.

RIP indeed.

It would be fitting if there were a vineyard, or at least a cuvee named after her in Burgundy. She touched many lives there. Never had the pleasure of meeting her in person. A legend.

RIP.