Grand Cru/Elite/Best Pinot Noir Vineyards of California

Rusty/Prince of Pinot takes a stab at it:

https://www.princeofpinot.com/article/2324/

Whether you agree with his classification or not, his background details on each vineyard is an interesting and valuable compilation.

I think Rusty’s vineyard list is thoughtful. Some omissions to be sure (where is Rhys’ Skyline?) but a thoughtful discussion starter.

I have had a decent sample size over the years and have yet to have a wine from Fiddlestix that made me sit up and take notice. That is my only real issue with his list but more than half of the listed vineyards are ones where I just don’t have enough experience to agree or disagree.

1 Like

I’ve been buying and drinking California Pinot Noir for over 20 years, and there are vineyards on that list I have never even heard of.

Not quite sure what to make of the list.

I absolutely hate this. Last thing I want to see is some arbitrary hierarchy of vineyards. In Burgundy it probably makes some sense, where you have long history, and fairly clear geographical stratification. In California it is total BS. Not to mention that everyone’s list would be completely different.

Eh. I never get the point of this exercise. I guess for wine broadcasting, which is more likely the case of a publication even of PP’s super specific nature compared to this arena, then there is some sense so readers newer to things can get a broad view all at once. Nonetheless, feels like this ultimately and always becomes an exercise in listing every vineyard that anyone knows about. In a room full of vineyard owners if you asked for a show of hands of who there thought they had the best vineyard nearly every hand would go up.

Well, that’s just like your opinion, man. What would YOU know about judging the quality of multiple pinot vineyards?

Oh, nevermind. [cheers.gif]