white Pinot Nero

I am no wine expert but I love sampling the unique wines available here in Italy

this wine I purchased in the far north of Verbania Province is called Frecciarossa Sillery Oltrepo Pavese Pinot Nero 2018 and from the Lombardy region

it has a slight effervescence, a dry apple taste and nice floral nose to it

and I believe it is a bargain at EUR 14

I hear it pairs well with jumbo shrimp.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing! [cheers.gif]

A few thoughts:

· Surely “Sillery” would be a protected place-name?

“Champagne village profile: Sillery, a Grand Cru Village in the Grande Montage de Reims”

Vine and Bubble, Issue #4
“Coteaux Champenois”

One dictionary website explicitly states that Sillery is not protected; neither does the village appear on any list of French appellation controlèes.

In the 19th Century, Sillery’s reputation was enforced by a collection of Champagne houses, not the government:

Maisons Champagne
“Defending the Appellation”

1882: The Champagne Houses form the Syndicat du Commerce des Vins de Champagne (which would become the UMC).
1885: The Syndicat brings charges against a Saumur wine merchant for misusing the names of Aÿ, Sillery and Champagne.”

· The first time I encountered the word Sillery was in one of Patrick O’Brian’s excellent works of historical fiction.

“‘The bubbly stuff is all very well,’ said Jack, looking at the light through his glass, ‘but for flavor, for bouquet and for quality give me a good sillery every time.’”

• page 88, The Thirteen Gun Salute by Patrick O’Brian

Lobscouse and Spotted Dog: Which It’s a Gastronomic Companion to the Aubrey/Maturin Novels by Anne Chotzinoff Grossman, Lisa Grossman Thomas - entries for “Sillery

[u]A Sea of Words[/u] by Dean King - entry for “Sillery

Cavallotto, the Barolo producer, makes a white pinot called “Pinner,” which is Piemontese dialect for pinot noir. It’s quite good – lots of both body and acidity, with a lot of flavor.