Tips for #rieslingstudy101

My brother-in-law drinks wine every now and then but has become interested in learning more about riesling. I don’t have a good sense of his preferences (the one riesling he knows he gets regularly is Firestone, but he buys others as well), so we thought it’d be useful to do comparative tastings together via Zoom so he can learn more. Any tips from those of you who have instructed others in the past who are total newbies on what has worked/not worked at an intro level? Some ideas I had, using the same producer/vineyard when able:

1. Compare residual sugar (trocken vs. halbtrocken/feinherb)
  2. Compare ripeness (kabinett vs. spätlese)
  3. Compare vintage characteristics (e.g. 2015 vs. 2016 German riesling)
  4. Compare maturity

RS/ripesneess/pradikat is probably one of the most beneficial ones to try. Lots of pre conceived notions of what riesling tastes like, that showcasing the breath of styles is always useful to helping guide people in their riesling journey. That’s probably where I’d start off with in a 101 to allow your brother to have an idea of where stylistically he prefers his rieslings and then you can take it from there.

The other one I find really interesting is terroir. A few weekends ago I tasted through Prum’s 2016 Spatleses with the family. We did Wehlener, Graacher and Zeltinger. Everyone was really surprised at how different they all were.

In the order you list them. Dry vs sweet is polarizing - if someone doesn’t like one or the other, it’s a deal breaker. So start there, and then move to more nuanced aspects within the category of dry or sweet or both if he likes both.

When I introduce people to a proper tasting, I try to get wines from the same producer and same vintage in Kab - Auslese or GKA, and then maybe do a mini vertical of one of those wines.