Austin Hope, anyone?

Tasting notes, varietals, grapes - anything related to wine
Bob W
GCC Member
GCC Member

Austin Hope, anyone?

#1 Post by Bob W »

I don't see much talk about Austin Hope around here. Curious why that is. I love it, but then I'm a newb to the world of wine. Every time we have one of their wines, whether it's their Cab, Cab Reserve, Mourvedre, Liberty School, Harvester (especially the Estrella) or Troublemaker, my wife and I always thoroughly enjoy every one. So I'm curious, any other fans, or just me?

The scene on the deck today. Beautiful day in the redwoods! Cheers, all! 🌲🍷
W i n d e l

Mike S.
GCC Member
GCC Member

Re: Austin Hope, anyone?

#2 Post by Mike S. »

They are not my style..Way too big and ripe for me. BUT my sister inlaw, my friends wife, and several other friends love them. Spectrum Wine auctions almost always have a case for about $300.
Michael Silverman

Eric White
GCC Member
GCC Member

#3 Post by Eric White »

I've never tried it, but every time I see that label at Costco I wonder how on earth they've avoided a lawsuit from Penfolds.

L. Bryant

#4 Post by L. Bryant »

While certainly ripe and big, I found their earlier syrahs delivered nice savory and textural elements. They even had some syrah "funk"

Have you had any of these 2010-2012 syrahs?

As mentioned above, my tastes have drifted away from that style ...and the quirkiness of older vintages seems to have fallen away.
L a n d r e s

J. Rock
GCC Member
GCC Member

#5 Post by J. Rock »

When I first got into wine (not long ago), I LOVED the Austin Hope GSM. I wonder if I'd still like it as much now that I've had so many more wines. Regardless, they are very popular, so they much be doing something right.
J o r d a n

WOTY 2020: 1982 Cakebread Cellars Sauvignon Blanc Late Harvest Rutherford Gold

Ryan Gilmour
GCC Member
GCC Member

#6 Post by Ryan Gilmour »