TN: 2005 Thomas Pinot Noir Dundee Hills

Though I’ve been drinking wine for some 30 years and am drawn to pinot/Burg, I’ve had relatively little experience with Thomas Pinots. Prior to the 2005 vintage I’d heard a lot of whispering about them (much like I heard about Jacky Truchot’s wines), and the few times I’d tried them I was impressed by their understated beauty. After early high praise of the 2005s I was able to source a good amount from John at the winery (750s as well as magnums), and have been intermittently trying them for the past decade. I drank at least a half-dozen bottles with friends between 2009 and 2015, and to be honest I was mildly disappointed as each bottle seemed a bit “clunky,” without the perfume and grace that I remembered from my prior experiences.

Tonight I learned that I was completely off in my drinking window for these wines. I opened up a 750 this evening. Although the nose was at first restrained, over the next hour it developed into frigging showcase of aromas wafting out of the glass. Cherry, allspice, cinnamon, a bit of cola. Silky smooth, with nothing out of place, fruit up front and a bit of spice and menthol on the back end. Beautiful wine, and one of the best domestic pinots I’ve encountered in my 20+ years of drinking them (along with early 1990s W-S).

Has anyone else had the chance to drink the 2005 recently?

Well, Ken…my mags are “buried” offsite. I really need to find them. Thanks for your impressions…

Cheers,
JP

2005 was a dynamite vintage, but structured, acidic, and modest in fruit during it’s youth. It’s evolution in bottle was quite slow(IMO) but has proven out over the past 2-3 years. I absolutely love the vintage.

Nice note. 2008 tonight…tasty, expressive, a bit of funk and deceptively sweet fruit. Open for business after 30 minutes. I only have a couple of 2005s left. Patience with Thomas (10+ years) is usually rewarded.

RT