TN: 1999 Evesham Wood Pinot Noir Cuvée J (USA, Oregon, Willamette Valley)

• 1999 Evesham Wood Pinot Noir Cuvée J - USA, Oregon, Willamette Valley (6/25/2020)
    Moss/ undergrowth, tilled earth, florals, and darker pinot fruit on the nose. Sappy and broad on the palate with more forest berry fruit, licorice, and more red than dark fruits on the palate. Some ferrous, savory notes add to the whole. Deep and supple with hidden power welling up over time. This has power coupled with grace. Some cedar notes on the back end. A serious, structured, yet graceful wine drinking at peak. I am a novice with regards to Oregon pinot, but this is a complicated, harmonious, structured wine showing very well. Count me impressed. (93 pts.)

Posted from CellarTracker

Awesome note Todd. I’ve got a long ways to go but look forward to seeing how my stash performs at this age.

That was a fantastic OR Pinot, I think I had my last one in 2019. The Seven Springs was also fantastic that year.

Truth, though that could be said for almost any year from 1999-2005 which is about the last year I can remember tasting. Not sure why I stopped as Evesham Wood continues to turn out very nice Pinots but most of my purchases are going to Cameron and Goodfellow these days. I think I have 1 99 J left- need to dig that out.

You’re rising fast along the learning curve! Thanks for the TN. Russ Raney was an OR Superstar IMHO. Erin has huge shoes to fill, but is quite honestly doing a respectable job IMHO.

RT

Awesome to see this note! 1999 was a tremendous vintage for aging. And in the same vein as 2008, it was a great vintage but one that really wanted time.

The first time I barrel tasted was at Evesham Wood, with Russ Raney. Late summer of 2000, and we tasted 1999s. I remember tasting the components of this wine(Temperance Hill and Le Puits Sec) and then having the light bulb flash on when Russ brought the finished wine into the restaurant.