2019 Bordeaux Recommendations for Longest Lived

I would like to get some 750 and 1.5L of 2019 Bordeaux as birth year wine, with the intent for it to be drunk 35+ years from now. As I have not gotten around to drinking as much Bordeaux, I am not sure house styles and how they have evolved in modern vintages (higher alcs, spoofing, etc). E.G., I didn’t bite on the Pontet Canet as it seemed this was perhaps more plush/modern and I was not sure if this was 35 year wine in 750/1.5L format. I was thinking Montrose would be a good one. My pain point is < $200/bottle, although I would like to snag 1-2 higher end bottles (<$400/bottle) if any where recommended.

Thank you for recommendations.

Hi Shaun, I suspect nobody, no matter how “expert” will really know if the styles made in 2019 will age like wines from decades ago. I’m far from an expert and in my limited experience the Cabernet dominant wines have aged 35 years quite effortlessly. For example, Lynch Bages ‘85 is just lovely now, and of course many ‘86s barely ready. So I probably wouldn’t go with Cos but one of the Pichons. Montrose also has a great track record for aging. Chances are you will be fine for 40+ years with most left bank wines in the 150-200 range. Storage will be a bigger variable over that time :slight_smile:!

LLC, Beychevelle, Lynch Bages, Grand Puy Lacoste, Ducru…etc

Our friends and I are still drinking 70’s. Just had a 59’ Latour that was sublime. No fading yet so 35 years is a chip shot.

I dunno how the modern iteration will survive but I’ve had several 35+ Domaine de Chevalier that were beautiful and the price point makes even larger formats affordable.