2010 Beronia Rioja Gran Reserva

I’ve always considered this Bodega reliable, 2nd tier at best. I’ve had Crianzas and Reservas, never a Joven or Gran Reserva. Figured I’d give this a try, apparently an excellent Rioja vintage, not a crazy price.

Big Winner! This is dark for a 10 year old Gran Reserva, with its minimum of two years in barrel. The aromas are younger than 10 years, very young for a Gran Reserva, with black plums, black pepper and some spicy notes. There is also something mountainous but not green in the nose. The palate is young and firm, fresh, with savory vigor, but enough secondary notes to let you know there’s age. I would have guessed 5 – 7 years, not 10. There is none of that aged American oak vanillin that makes many Gran Reservas love/hate wines. The balance is excellent, the fruit is ripe, all black, with firm tannins but some tenderness as well. This is excellent. I have no experience, so can’t predict if this will improve, but I would not be surprised. A singleton, but current release and I’m going back for half a case, which is a big commitment for me. Retail in the low $30s, fine value. Rated 92.5. This could improve a point or two, but I’m far from sure. I’ll crack another towards the end of the year and ponder it from there.

Dan Kravitz

Hi Dan,

Nice note. I really like rioja and this sounds like a good wine to try. Saratoga wine exchange has decent pricing. Thanks again.

Lonnie