$225 Cab discussion

Tasting notes, varietals, grapes - anything related to wine
MatthewT
GCC Member
GCC Member

$225 Cab discussion

#1 Post by MatthewT » May 21st, 2020, 2:32 pm

I'm new to this game. And have a hard time tasting the difference between a $100 Cab and a $225 Cab but I haven't had much $225 Cab in my life, to be fair. I work in the stock market and approach this discussion from that perspective. When there is a hot IPO, you can't get allocation to it. And it's underpriced and it opens much higher for a sure thing. Of course, Wine is not much different. Wines with long waiting lists are underpriced and command premiums immediately on the secondary market. If the priced them at market, the wait list would vanish.

My question/debate is this: Any expensive current vintage wine, in the $100+ price point but really $200+, if it's readily available to anyone day 1, and if you can buy older vintages at cost or very close through retail, why would anyone buy this wine day 1? Isn't the market clearly saying it's overpriced? Can't you just wait to see how the wine reviews and buy it years later at near cost or cost? What is the rational besides hoping to get access to something not overpriced aka something that does sell out immediately/has a wait list later in the year?

I've seen a lot of these $200+ Cabs been readily available since I started looking at them.

I am only buying wine for consumption not for investment. But I also don't want to pay inflated prices for wine. I can name you some vineyards that apply to above but you know who they are. There are many. Is it relationships that keep you buying? Is it you feel the value is there based on the taste and the rest is irrelevant?
I'm a Turk, though not from Turkey, it's actually my last name

Mark Y
GCC Member
GCC Member

Re: $225 Cab discussion

#2 Post by Mark Y » May 21st, 2020, 2:40 pm

Macdonald. $165. Really compares well to much more expensive stuff.
Not widely available tho.
Y.e.

Andrew K.