Is this "advanced"/early stages of premox? (Patrick Piuze)

I’m relatively new to white wines with more than a few years’ age. I haven’t had what I consider to be a genuinely prematurely oxidized or advanced bottle, but my experience is certainly limited due to my lack of familiarity with older whites.

Tonight, I opened a 2015 Patrick Piuze Chablis 1er Cru Les Fôrets. Upon pouring it into my glass, I was rather shocked by the golden colour - then came the wild aromatics. Upon first sniff, the nose is totally unlike any other Chablis I’ve ever had - butterscotch/Werther’s, orange, yellow/brown apple, honey, white flowers, some flinty reductive notes as well. Much the same on the palate, with some saline qualities but not that classic mineral stoniness of Chablis. It’s certainly rounded with present but not pronounced acidity, but that wouldn’t surprise me given the vintage. It doesn’t smell apple cider-y or particularly funky (I work with a lot of natural wine so I sort of know those tell-tales) - ultimately, I really have no context for this wine and it’s certainly drinkable and I’m fascinated, if more than a bit flummoxed.

I threw it into a decanter to see if some air would change anything. The picture doesn’t quite do it justice - it is an even deeper gold. It seems pretty advanced in both colour and aroma for a five-year-old wine.

Any thoughts? I did a search and read a couple of older threads here about Piuze wines being advanced or premoxed in the early to mid-2010s, but not much since.
CEBE38D6-C68E-4596-8DFE-512C5DCE8D58.jpg

Your description is very interesting. I’ve never had a white Burg that showed both reductive and oxidative notes at the same time.

For sure! I’m baffled, and what I perceived as flint may very well not be.

That color is pretty wild. Butterscotch aromatics—from Chablis—certainly sounds like oxidation to me. I have no experience with Piuze, though.