TN: 2017 Château Carbonnieux Blanc

• 2017 Château Carbonnieux Blanc - France, Bordeaux, Graves, Pessac-Léognan (3/28/2020)
    This immediately blew both of us away…the nose is full of tropical fruits, crushed stone, and a floral lift that lingers with an air of perfume in the nostrils. The palate is lean and lithe with notes of kiwi, green banana, green apple, and candied ginger. This is light-medium bodied, with bright & vivid fruit notes. One other aspect to this wine is that it is under the Diamanté’s 30 year cork. For me, that along with the balance and elegance that this shows…leads me to believe that this can easily last 25+ years. This is absolutely Outstanding!! I decided to buy a case of this after tasting this bottle.

Posted from CellarTracker

Thank you for the note. We really enjoyed the 2014.

Ed

Always a great wine.

This is my first time with this producer…but I’ve been tasting a lot of Bordeaux Blanc recently and this was an immediate hit for both my wife & I. I had an epiphany with a 1981 LaCour Pavillon in late 2019. So we’ve really been searching out more White Bordeaux. I think it really says something when a $40-something bottle of White Bordeaux has a 30 year Diamanté’s cork.

• 1981 LaCour Pavillon - France, Bordeaux (11/10/2019)
    This is F-ing ridiculous!! A deep golden yellow in the Zalto Universal. This leads with butterscotch, chamomile tea, and honey comb on the nose. Open close to 90 minutes now and this just keeps getting better. There is no perceptible acidity, but it is just plain lovely. The Semillon seams to be screaming out. There’s a lemony richness in the mid palate that just explodes and unloads enough tropical fruits to justify a fruit salad. Outstanding!!!

I had the 1929 recently which was mind-blowing
3ED83C69-8F3C-4EE9-AB67-818B6C6533A6.jpeg

Yes, and really well valued.

Yes, this will become an annual case-purchase for me after last night’s bottle.

Drinking the 16 now…love it!