Schrader, worth it?

Got my first offer this week for a Gorgeous 6-pack for $1350. The $200 for shipping and tax puts a sour taste in my mouth. Love TRB but are these worth the $260 a bottle?

No Napa wine is worth $250, imo.

No wine from anywhere is really worth $260.

But if you like the style and you have money to burn . . .

The wines are awesome!
I have been buying them direct since 2005. Every bottle I have opened has been special.
That said I stopped buying after Fred sold. Maybe not a good reason but I have about 100 bottles which will be able to last me a long time. In general I think Schrader is worth it if it doesn’t bust your budget.

Ken’s a lucky man with 100+ bottles in the cellar. If you like the style, yes these are worth it. Special for sure.

1 Like

Also a TRB fan … If you’re looking for something kinda “culty” made by TRB that you can get without a waiting list (and don’t have to buy in a pack they organize), look at Round Pond’s “gravel series.” Price is a BIT more approachable – I think “SRP” is $225, but with your 20% club discount they come into the 180’s.

I’d suggest Maybach and MacDonald. Both are under $200 and are far superior to Schrader. Less costly to ship. No offense to TRB, but you’re paying for his name.

Dh

How does one get MacDonald for under $200 a bottle ?

What wines are worth $250?

Plenty of Scarecrow buyers out there at $400 plus

Under $200??

Had my first experience with Schrader at our quarterly wine dinner this past January. It was a 2013 LPV and it was the WOTN for most of us. Would I need six bottles of each vintage? Probably not, but having a couple from each year in the cellar is worth it IMO.

I think “technically” Maybach is under at like 195 or they’re right at 200 for Materium. MacDonald has a full list and you can’t get on and they are def aren’t under $200 on the secondary market.

From a friend; or dare I say, mailing list.

Dh