Searching for “aged” wines

I am relatively new to the wine game but unfortunately I discovered my love for wine at a late age. I am now looking to backfill my cellar. What are the go to online sites to buy wine with some age. I am particularly interested in those sites that truly guarantee provenance, that provide a good customer experience and are not outrageously expensive.
I have been thinking of ordering from Benchmark but have not pulled the trigger because of mixed reviews.

Give us a hint of what “aged” means to you - what vintage. Are you thinking domestic or imported?

What do you mean by “guarantee provenance?” I have a feeling that you are describing a null set.

Benchmark has a “provenance guarantee” on some wines. I’d like to know exactly what they mean by that and if anyone has had experience returning something under that guarantee. That would be a really strong selling point IMO.

Looking for California Cabernets and French Bordeaux primarily.

It’s not cab, but the aged Syrah Cabot deal from Berserkerday is still up. I haven’t tried them yet (still waiting for delivery) but have heard good reviews overall.

I would like to know that if I am going to spend $100 plus for an “aged” wine and it turns out to be “ corked” that the seller will return my money.

None of the stores I deal with (and none of which I am aware) will issue a refund for an aged bottle that is corked, and I wouldn’t expect them to. They have no recourse against the producer or the importer (and really no way to determine whether the wine was actually corked). You just take your chances.

Corked and provenance don’t have anything to do with one another. A wine was corked when it went into the bottle. I’m more concerned with the chain of custody once it left the winery. This is what provenance is.

I’m fairly certain that Chambers St stands behind all of their bottles. That said, I agree with your comment and fully expect to assume all risk of flaws when purchasing an older bottle.