Is 2000 Bordeaux actually approachable now?

I have little experience with very old Bordeaux > 20-30 years old, but the last few 2000 Bordeaux I have opened this year were all excellent, including a 2000 Gruaud Larose, 2000 Grand Puy Lacoste, and a 2000 Clinet. Of course this is a small sample size, but I think these wines are very approachable now.

Just curious what others think, or am I committing infanticide by opening these?

From my recent experiences, I think many of 2000 Bordeaux are entering their drinking window. Still youthful, but developing enjoyable and complex secondary aromas + flavors. Branaire Ducru, Grand Puy Lacoste, Pichon Lalande, Pontet Canet, Léoville Poyferré, Smith Haut Lafitte, Troplong Mondot were all drinking beautifully when opened in the last year or so. That said, I think all of them will continue to evolve and improve, where well stored. Other recent bottles that were still quite primary and tight as a drum include Pichon Baron, Ducru-Beaucaillou, and Angelus.

Ironically, I’m popping a 2000 Montrose tonight, will circle back. I’ve had quite a few 2000s over the past year, and concur, they are young but entering a comfortable drinking window. Ideally a wine like Montrose would be something I pop with more years on it, but a client of mine wan the s to try it at dinner tonight. He’s bringing a 2005, which is way too young.

1 Like

Coincidentally not ironically.

Coincidentally, it rained on his wedding day.

IF you like them now, how can it be infanticide? Always better to drink a wine a bit young than a bit old.

David pisses on everyone. I only see his posts if he’s quoted.

That makes it Craig’s fault. [rofl.gif]

Aww…sarcasm hurts.

How ironic.

Have had quite a few 2000 bdx in the past few months. Youthful but definitely spot in and very enjoyable.
I’d say it’s drink or hold time.