2016 Vangone release

I’ve never tried the label before but I’m familiar with Sam Kaplan’s other labels (Memento Mori, Arkenstone, MAXEM). How does this one compare (I’ve seen terrific reviews)? Thanks!

The wait is over!

At Vangone Estate we age our powerful and luscious mountain fruit an extra year in new French Oak before bottling to ensure a rich, powerful yet seamlessly integrated wine. This means the highly anticipated release of our 2016 Vangone Estate Cabernet is finally here!!

The vineyard is hitting its stride in our 3rd vintage, producing fruit showcasing our unique location high above Oakville Crossroad on the Eastern side of Napa Valley. The cooling influence of Rector Reservoir and late sun exposure combined with our iron rich, volcanic granite soils produce fruit with stunning richness and freshness. The accolades have been pouring in for our special little vineyard and the team of Mario Bazan and Winemaker Sam Kaplan have worked tirelessly in lockstep, ensuring it’s special character is showcased to its fullest. Patty & I are stunned at its expressiveness and thrilled by its quality. We couldn’t be more excited to offer you the opportunity to enjoy and continue on this fabulous journey with us.

The Wine:

2016 Vangone Estate Cabernet Sauvignon (257cs produced)

This vintage the dark purple, almost black wine offers aromas of blueberry compote and dark berries, earthy dark chocolate with layered hints of pencil shavings, fresh cedar, English tea, cinnamon, truffles and lavender. The palate is voluptuously rich and densely mouth-coating while remaining elegant and super-integrated. It finishes with firm, persistent yet fine tannin. Often having heard it described as an “Iron Fist in a Velvet Glove”, we feel our third vintage epitomizes what Vangone and the Napa Valley as a whole can produce.

I’m in on this one—CT reviews are high on Vangone

I will be a buyer as well.