Gerard Raphet Question - what's Cuvee Unique?

Question on Gerard Raphet - there are regular bottles and there are bottles labelled “cuvee unique”…

what’s the difference??

This might not be useful, but it’s a tiny bit of Burg knowledge I have, so I’m going to dispense it regardless: for Jean Raphet, the Uniques were imported by North Berkeley Wine and they had a more intense oak treatment. At least that was true of the 1999 Gevrey Lavaux St Jacques. They have the same last name, the same MUST apply here, no? newhere

Cuvée Unique = More Oak. These aren’t top burgs, IMO, though I have no recent data points.

So the regular (non uniques) bottlings are better?

1 Like

There are no “Cuvee Unique”-bottles in Europe, so I have no experience, but I think this practique has been abandoned for more than a decade.
If I remember correctly Gerard told me once that he simply bottled one or two new barrels for his US-importer seperately - without blending it with wine from older barrels.
So the regular bottles are a blend of old and new barrels - the CU are new barrels only.
The basic wine is identical - so I dare not to say one or another is better.

Now there is only one cuvee, except for the Clos Vougeot where is a Vieilles Vignes bottles which is more expensive.

BTW: Gerard Raphet, who solely makes the wine since 2002 (when father Jean retired) but did a lot of the work before, too, is producing outstanding wines for many years, if not topclass then quite close. His 2016s are highly recommended, even the Chambolle Village is excellent … and not that expensive.
Also the simple Bourgogne was very enjoyable, but I didn´t taste the 2016.

I have noticed some older Arlaud wines carry the “Cuvee Unique” name. So this denotes same juice but different oak treatment of the same wine?

I was here in August, and can also provide some additional info: