TN: A few young sweet German Rieslings

I haven’t shared many of my tasting notes yet, but I wanted to share my thoughts on a few great Rieslings I had over the summer. These were not tasted blind. I’m still new at properly tasting wine, so I’d be very interested to hear your thoughts. [cheers.gif]

I’m also attending an importer tasting of my favorite German Riesling producers this weekend and plan to post my tasting notes, so in anticipation of that, hopefully this can give you some sense of my palate if if it has any similarities to yours.

2012 Max Ferd. Richter Wehlener Sonnenuhr Riesling Spatlese (Mosel Saar Ruwer, Germany) - 6/1/2019

43 degrees; pop and pour; pretty crappy wine glass

Look: medium gold; no legs

Nose: Meyer lemon; honeysuckle; candied ginger; green papaya

Palate: Meyer lemon; to candied ginger and Meyer lemon at the end, with maybe some honeysuckle and slight minerality; medium+ sweet; high- acidity; light-medium body; no heat; not much of a finish (but no bad aftertaste at all); very slight effervescence

Overall thoughts: nice, ripe fruit, but decently simple; could use a bit more acid or minerality to balance the sweetness better, but it’s still balanced pretty nicely; good with bleu cheese; seems a bit more balanced after sitting out and/or warming up

88 pts

2015 Fritz Haag Brauneberger Juffer-Sonnenuhr Riesling Auslese Goldkapsel #22 (Mosel Saar Ruwer, Germany) – 6/13/2019

49.5 degrees; pop and pour; pretty crappy wine glass

Look: medium-pale yellow; medium speed legs

Nose: Meyer lemon, ginger, honeysuckle

Palate: candied lemon, ripe pineapple, lemon flower honey, honey, little ginger, bit of minerality, bit of salt; medium length finish with honey, a bit of salt and slight minerality; creamy texture; high sweetness; high acidity; medium body; no heat

Overall thoughts: excites the mouth with great acidity; wonderful ripe fruit and honey; lovely sweetness and substance balanced with lively acid; excellent

94 pts