Esther Mobley tells you how to look like a total newb

Esther offers these (intended to be helpful) tips for visiting during harvest. A better title might have been “Ask These Questions To Annoy The Crap Out Of Everyone Within Earshot.”

[rofl.gif]

That’s almost as good as her piece about how to help the plumber fix things at your house.

And nowhere near as good as her review of best ways of stopping to offer road crews helpful construction hints.

Sign hanging in an auto repair shop years ago-
Labor-$15.00 per hour
If you watch-$20.00
If you help-$25.00

I just want to be in the tasting room when some greenhorn looks at their phone and reads off, “Do you make your rosé by direct press, or saignee?” while mispronouncing “saignee.”

A local body shop has something like this -

We offer any two of the following:
Done fast
Done right
Done cheap

Wow, the snark comes fast and easy around here!

The Press is a website intended to help the general population visiting wine country learn how to get the most out of their visit. I guess that’s really not a good idea, though, since who needs to educate people about wine when you can just condescend to them? I mean, everyone knows the right questions to ask at a winery during harvest time (anyone have better ones?), and everyone knows how to pronounce saignee (oh wait, the article actually indicates the correct pronunciation). And, you’re completely right, why should you learn the right questions to ask a plumber or a mechanic, since they would never rip off an unknowledgeable consumer.

I get that some of the questions can seem basic, but everyone has to start somewhere - and the general public can do a lot worse than this article.

I think winery staff would rather be asked genuine questions that come from curiosity as opposed to crap recited off a list for the purposes of ingratiating oneself. But perhaps I’m old fashioned