A lineup that Alfert would approve

For tonight:
I think, as a Bordeaux newbie, I will open and taste a bit early PM and decide if it needs excessive air exposure
The wines will be tasted blind, all 3 together
https://www.instagram.com/p/BxjshDyDWIw/?utm_source=ig_web_button_share_sheet

My bottle of 96 JG was corked so it’s a bit hard to tell, but from the structure it seemed like it needed about 50 more years in the bottle.

Where? Booking right now . . . .

Does anyone else find the juxtaposition of that odd, green sculpture, behind bottles of Sociando, amusing? Like abstract stalks of asparagus. Claus, wasn’t it you with that other very unique sculpture in another wine picture?

Incidentally, I have all of these wines, too. Just grabbed some 2001 and 2003 JG Cuvee. Looking to do a comparative line-up one day.

Both the 95 and 95 JC are gorgeous, but they really are still quite youthful. Big expressions of Cab Sav fruit.

The 3 wines are all very structured and austere, but with plenty of delicious fruit behind.
The JG has an extra shot of oak/vanilla taint that needs to integrate. But it was only bottled 21 years ago…
IMO this is really great Bordeaux, despite being “only” Haut Medoc
The sculpture was made by a great and generous man in all respects, the fine artist Nils Erik Gjerdevik, unfortunately now deceased. He was also a dear friend, who I had the pleasure to be with in many wine or art related arrangements

Cool link, some really nice large-scale works and installlations!

Count me jealous. Robert, where are you procuring the JG? Production is so tiny, and I see it so rarely.

Great line-up, Claus, looking forward to hearing how they turn out!

Kelly, I agree it’s very suspicious - I suspect the über Geek of buying a share of SM so he can keep an annual stash for himself - how long until the “Cuvée R.A.”?

Like in romance, a civilized person must keep his/her confidences!