A curmudgeon meets the Kimmeridgien; comparing Chablis & Sancerre

As I slip-slide through the last months of my seventh decade, I am still learning new things. Made curious by a comment about the "Kimmeridgien "being missing in the flavor profile of a recently tasted William Fevre Chablis, I was paying attention when the same term was used by Alphonse Mellot to describe his Sancerre “La Moussiere” which I am about to test drive. I have experience with Sancerre, but am new to Chablis. When I tasted my first Chablis a few months back I noted the resemblance of the flavor profile to Sancerre even calling it a “Chardonnay-Sancerre”. Obviously, the grapes are different, but I find the same dry, citrusy crisp, energetic, flavorful notes in both, with no detectable oak to me in either. Am I off base with my limited sampling of Chablis? Not wanting to raise the “terroir” taste issue again, but I am intrigued by the thought that the Kimmeridgien is contributing to the flavor profile of these two wines. Thoughts?

Jim,
Limestone soils pretty much universally impart an intensely salty, mineral flavor, and a more tonic sense of body.
Geologically speaking, the same band of limestone is found in the white cliffs of dover, Chavignol (heart of Sancerre), Chablis, and the prime white wine sector of the Côte de Beaune.
So your sniffer/taster is indeed onto something.

I would say so too, that depending on the Sancerre or even the Savennieres you taste, there could be allusions to Chablis, Jim. And Rob—I’ve found Bott Geyl’s Schlossberg plot puts me in mind of Chablis in a way too…thoughts?

Haere Ra

Mike

FWIW, I had a completely different wine also grown on Kimmeridgian clay, a NV Fitzrovia Rose English bubbly, grown in West Sussex… and intensely salty is an apt descriptor.