Is Les Narvaux Meursault's best non-1er Cru Vineyard?

Is Les Narvaux Meursault’s best non-1er Cru vineyard?

• Yes, fo’ sho!
  • Possibly, but it’s hard to say for sure
  • Nah, not quite. _____ is slightly better.
  • No, absolutely not. Many single vineyard non-1er Meursault wines are as good or slightly better.

0 voters

If my final and only bottle of non-poxed (1 for 3) [soap.gif] 2013 Jean-Marie Bouzereau Les Narvaux is any indication of how great this vineyard is, then the answer is a resounding “yes.” Time has certainly served this wine well. Acidity and minerals are supercharged yet held in check with an unctuous richness of stone fruit, sweet florals, caramel, and perfectly-integrated oak. Elated that I was able to catch this at peak after dumping two disastrous bottles down the sink. Although my cost basis was $90+ (3x$30 on closeout), I can’t help but feel this is a wine that’s more than deserving of a $50+ shelf price. As I’m far from an expert on the single vineyards of Meursault, I’m curious to know if anyone feels there are other single vineyards in the village worth checking out that are void of Premier Cru status. Thanks!
4621D868-5980-418A-BDC3-481564B950E4.jpeg

Meursault is rich in fantastic Lieu-Dit Village Vineyards

The three top(?) producers in Meursault have:

Coche-Dury:
Meursault Les Chevalières
Meursault Les Rougeots

Roulot:
Meursault Les Tessons, Clos de Mon Plaisir
Meursault Les Tillets
Meursault Les Meix-Chavaux
Meursault Les Vireuils
Meursault Les Luchets

Comte-Lafon:
Meursault Clos De La Barre

I’d say all of these can give Narvaux a run for it’s money.

I would definitely add Arnaud Ente to this list…Their ‘Le Seve du Clos’ is out of this world and ‘Clos des Ambres’ is also not too shabby.

Coche-Dury has also a Meursault Les Vireuils, although it is rarely (or never) labelled as that. It is usually fantastic.