great vintage available but bad year for you

A great vintage of your favorite wine is available but that was a bad year for you. Do you buy it?

• Yes
  • No
  • I don’t know

0 voters

Assume there was a great vintage available for your favorite wine. However, during that year you experienced personal hardship/trauma that you would prefer to forget. The personal event can obviously differ for everyone but assume it is an event you would prefer not to remember.
Would you purchase that vintage? Or would you exclude it from your collection?

It’s a no brainer–skip it. No reason to add reminders of badness. there are always plenty of other good/great years out there.

+1
True, plus you can think of it as a way to save money for other wines on the list

1. I avoided them for awhile but time heals and 01 d’Yquem is too good to pass on

If I like it: I buy/drink it.

If I did that, I couldn’t buy anything from 2016 thru 2020 vintages.

I have been buying wine for 55 years. There is ALWAYS another great wine/vintage to buy.

Interesting thread. I have bought many wines in great, good, and even middling vintages for sentimental reasons (birth years, anniversaries) but never avoided buying to avoid a reminder. Perhaps I am overly focused on the positive sentiment of the expression of grape harvested in such sentimental years and, for other years, simply focus on the wine rather than the negatives associated with the vintage (and there are a few). To my mind, the focus is the upside of a great wine regardless of year. And, that said, I am beginning to regret a few of those sentimental purchases that will bring interest – but not excitement – based on the vintage…

Interesting thought. It obviously never even occurred to me or I wouldn’t own so many 2001s and 2008s and I’d never touch 2028s when they come out :slight_smile:

Not superstitious at all. Never occurred to me. Otherwise I would have thought twice about a few vintages.