New here: tips on SQN aging

Hi everyone,

I am a college student who has been working on growing a small wine collection, and a couple nights ago, on something of an impulse, I bought several bottles of SQN in an online auction. I have been fascinated by this winery for quite some time and just couldn’t resist any longer. I am thrilled and honored to have snagged two bottles of each of the following: the 2010 Stockholm Syndrome Grenache, the Stockholm Syndrome Syrah, and the 2012 Touche Syrah. However, aside from one experience as an adolescent, I have never drunk a wine this expensive, and would be hard pressed to find a justification for opening any of these. Plus, from what I hear, these wines are not yet mature, anyway.

I wanted to ask the forum about their experience with these wines in terms of their aging and their value. I have read conflicting things about them on this forum and CellarTracker. Although built for aging, many people report these wines to be over-the-hill by about 12 or so years. Is that true? Finally, if you had to guess, what would your expectations be of these wines’ value projections? (I.e., are they likely to go up in value if I sit on them for 10 years?)

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

You have two of each? Open one of each now to celebrate the beginning of your downfall! [berserker.gif]

When I was in college, I was chasing first editions books. Wine came in grad school. But I still haven’t dropped the coin on SQN (finances change with kids).

If you have two of each…I agree. You should enjoy them in their youth and with some age. I’ve only been on the list since 2012 vintages but think there is real value in enjoying some of them now.

Open one now, they should drink great!!

A couple of weeks ago, a friend brought over a Dangerous Birds (2007) syrah, which was singing at PnP. The Patine (2011) grenache, however, had been decanted and was really a few years (or a few more hours in decanter) away from being at its prime.