Starting New

So im just getting started here. Been enjoying wine for years but never had the funds to really start a nice collection during medical school and training. I just don’t know where to start. I tend to drink ALOT of California Pinot. What I have in right now at home is Kosta Browne, Sea Smoke, Dehlinger, Williams Selyem. along with a bunch of different wines by Charles Smith and I just placed an order with Aubert yesterday. I just don’t know where to start. I cant be drinking a 70-100 dollar bottle of Kosta Browne on a random weeknight. I do like Syrah, Brunello, Cabs. Im looking to pick up a random selection of French and Italian wines to try that are on the cheaper side to see if I like them. Any suggestions?

Lots and lots to be said, but I will start small:

1. Watch Berserker Day in a few weeks. It will have crazy deals on small lots of wines you’ve never had. It’s a great ‘sampler day’ and you can watch what people say about the deals that are getting listed to get an idea of what to expect! I found it to be a great way to explore the wine world.

2. Tell us what town you are in and I am sure there will be people with good local tasting recommendations.

Others will be adding even better advice soon, and welcome!’

You have Dehlinger - that’s almost all you need :slight_smile:

Bordeaux is still a GREAT QPR - so is Chinon, Loire, and a few Northern Rhones. Italy’s best buys are probably Dolcetto or Nebbiolo (non-Barolo/Barbaresco). Hang around here, you’ll find a number of great topics, and be careful asking what to buy, as this forum increases wine spending by about 100=fold

Welcome to the board. It sounds to me like you are already off to a start. I am not sure where you are located, but find a good wine shop and start dabbling in other areas. There are also lots of good threads on this board about affordable options in most areas. There is a good search function above. Here are some links, too: