More time to breath or wait another year

Hi,
I’m new to wine. I was gifted a case of 2015 turley estates cabs. I opened one last night. Let it air in the glass about 30 minutes. Drank the glass over another 30 minutes. It was mediocre. I put the bottle in the fridge overnight. Tonight, it was dramatically better—as in night and day better. Does it mean I should wait a few more years before opening more bottles? Or should I just open them and wait several hours? What should I do??? I really liked it the next day, but I don’t want to miss an even better experience if I wait another year or two…. Thanks in advance.

Thanks.
D. Sackman

Lots of wine benefit from time. Put them away for a few years and they may very well be better. I haven’t opened my 2013 Turley Cabs :slight_smile:.

Decanting an hour or two ahead might achieve the same thing as leaving it in the fridge overnight.

The great thing about having a case of the same wine is that it affords the opportunity to experience it at varying stages of its evolution. If you want to drink another one anytime soon, splash decant a few hours in advance.

IMHO decanting is not a great substitute for bottle aging in a temperature controlled cellar, so I would say wait. That said, I have a high preference for aged wines. I rarely open any red wine with less than 2-3 years in the cellar and rarely open a Cab with less than 10 years of cellar time. Right now I am sipping on an '04 CA cab and it is delicious (for my tastes). As a beginner you need to work to determine your own preferences. Do you prefer the primary flavors of a young wine or the more mellow notes of an aged bottle. It is a fascinating and enjoyable journey, albeit a somewhat expensive one.

You are wondering whether to wait on a 2015 estate cab? It’s been in the bottle, what, a few weeks? Yes, wait.
http://www.turleywinecellars.com/2012-estate-vineyard

Welcome to the board!