I'm no Champagne expert, but...

this was delicious!
image.jpg
First experience with this house and bottle, but found it to be wonderful. Fine bubbles, nose of yeast, green apple and some gingersnap, leads to Granny Smith tartness and toasted brioche and almond… The just had nothing out of place, everything flowed together.

Howard

It’s great. My first experiences with them were from the early 90s and they were wonderful.

I like that brand, as well.

Yup, Bolly is one of my favorite houses.

I’ve always liked Bollinger, and their 2002 is very nice indeed. I’ve recently opened the ‘02 RD version, and much preferred it over the accompanying 2000 Krug served during the same dinner.
794CE676-9873-4B61-AD1B-2A13DA4A1A08.jpeg

Question,how does the RD compare after a couple decades to the Grand Annee? I have never tried a single vintage side by side after say 20 or so years.

I haven’t had the Bollinger regular ‘02 and RD ‘02 side by side; but, from memory of past bottles thereof, the RD seemed comparatively fresher, marginally purer, more floral & lighter footed - which are pretty much the same differences I noted when I had the regular ‘96 Dom & the ‘96 Dom Oenotheque side by side.

Best,

N

Older Bollinger RD’s from the 70’s and 80’s haven’t aged as well as the original release versions; most likely due to the lower dosage.
I assume the same will hold true for younger vintages as well.

Ray should be banned from this thread based on the title, but since you’re here…

Have you had the 75 Bollinger RD recently?

It’s probably been 12-15 years and it was a jero. Was in a good place at that time, but I would drink a 750ml sooner rather than later.