Poor Man's Wines

I was just reading through another post and I was interested in the following quote: “At the highest levels, you can almost always find a wine that is almost as good and costs a fraction.
For Petrus you can get a 6 pack of VCC
For Latour, also a 6 pack of Pontet Canet”

This made me wonder what are some other wines that will give a similar experience to a high end wine, but that is a fraction of the price (1/3 or less)?

P.S. I don’t post very often as I don’t feel like I have a lot of knowledge to give, but I have learned a lot from you guys, Thanks!

The VCC reference for Petrus is on point for me. VCC is in the running for my favorite Bordeaux.

Conseillante for Lafleur

Grand Puy Lacoste and Lynch Bages for Latour

Sociando for Pichon Lalande

Curious about references from others, so fun thread!

Muscadet and some Austrian rieslings as well as Assyrtiko don’t taste like white Burgundy but often scratch the itch.

Alan

What rieslings compare to a chard ?

Great topic!

Guffens Heynen Pouilly Fuisse and Macon wines instead of 1er cru White Burgundy
Rockford Basket Press Shiraz instead of Grange or HoG
Pommard 1er Cru instead of Cote de Nuits 1er Cru!

As above, not the same but a lot of the experience for a lot fewer $$$:

Chateau des Tours CdR or Vacqueyras for Rayas/Pignan.

1985/86/88/89/90 Meyney for any Pauillac/St. Julien/Ste. Estephe of that time.

Rather a fine Grüner Veltliner for a white Burg.
I myself have been mislead by some GV when intelligently selected.

Pouilly Fuissé Clos Des Quarts, Chateau Des Quarts
for
Meursault Clos de La Barre, Comtes Lafon

Might be considered cheating, but that wine is a fantasic buy.

There are some wines that I’ve bought before, that I couldn’t justify buying now. I do believe that number will continue to grow in the near future.