Going overboard aging NV Champagne

I think that your average NV champagne does very well if you age it and improves as much, or perhaps more, than vintage champagne. I’ve done it with the likes of base level Pol Roger and Taittinger and I’ve been very pleased with the results after 6 years or so. Do any of you have similar experiences?

However, I think I may have waited a bit too long with this, which has been in my cellar since my son’s Bar Mitzvah in 1999:

Posted from CellarTracker

Pop the cork and find out.

Aged NV is fabulous with good houses. I have had 15yr old examples that were truly inspiring.

That stuff was awful when it was released.

I am new to Champagne (other than special occasion toast) and am finding that I like the wines very much and the diversity of all the various options.

I find that I like them (various recent NV releases and even some of the vintage ones 02, 06, 08) much better on the second day after sitting in the fridge over night (capped).

Maybe this is a sign of what I would have in 5 years ? Thoughts?

We have been discussing decanting champagne in our wine group and the consensus seems to be that if you have the nerve to do it, you will be rewarded. I have done it once or twice when serving Comtes blind, because the bottle is so distinctive even when wrapped, and I think it makes it even better.

Awful is such a pejorative term. I would prefer to say “A value bubbly from the west coast that was well-received by the civilians in attendance.”

I don’t buy NV Champagne from many producers, but those that I do purchase I try to keep for a few years before opening.

As discussed previously, Krug Grande Cuvee can age and improve for decades. I’m currently drinking bottles that I purchased in '06, and they still will improve with additional bottle age.

I prefer honesty over damning with faint praise. :wink: