Spanish cults from Totalwine?

Since I order Bordeaux En Primeur from Totalwine, I’m on their concierge list. Normally I ignore it, but I’ve notice some… well, just weird wines lately at insane prices. Specfically culty Spanish wines way above Vega Sicilia prices.

Today it was a 2014 Teso La Monja for an insane $1,499. A while ago it was the 2010 Sierra Cantabria, Magico for $500.

These struck me as wierd. I’m no expert in Spanish wine, but I’ve had a bunch of them and certainly seen alot of them at auction. Is this just selling to people chasing the latest “high score” and gouging them? Or are these truly world class wines?

Total Wine Concierge Sales is pitching Teso La Monja, a $1,500 Toro from Sierra Cantabria. First off, I’m confused. I’ve never heard of a “quantity to quality to price ratio.” And it seems to me that, if you start off with a high QPR wine but it’s made in minute quantities, you end up with a very, very low QQR.

Second, in this case it strikes me that, even at 98 points from Jeb Dunnuck, this has an extraordinarily bad QPR.

[scratch.gif]

Though Spain hasn’t always come first to mind in producing the most sought after, scarce and highly collectible (AKA…expensive) wines in the world, this is all changing with the legendary Pingus, Vega Sicilia’s Unico and the kingpin of them all, our offer today - ‘Teso La Monja’. Competing with the world’s elite, the astronomical quality is not only playing into people’s desire for this wine but the scarcity is driving a frenzy to find this unattainable bottle. With only 60 cases produced compared to the 2,500 cases of Petrus, 500 cases of Screaming Eagle, and 300 cases of Pingus – > the quantity to quality to price ratio is astounding. > For the most exclusive wine produced from vines planted in 1885, this is a rare pinnacle of perfection. Today, with a limited allocation, we are excited to offer you the first opportunity in the market to secure your bottle of the 2014 vintage before it’s gone.