Ridge - Unusual or Rare Bottlings?

I am not a Ridge expert by any means. I can count the number of times I have tasted their wines on one hand. Anyway…

I stumbled on a CellarTracker note for the 2005 vintage Ridge “Oltranti” wine. This was not a wine I had ever heard of or read about in the past. The vineyard source, according to the winery website, was Mazzoni Vineyard (predominantly younger vine grapes):

I enjoy perusing CT, Gang of Pour, etc, for ATP, short-term bottlings, and such from this internationally acclaimed winery.

I recall from a Wine & Spirits article that Mr Paul Draper stated that Ridge had worked with fruit from over 100 vineyards over the years. Here on the forum, I typically encounter tasting notes on the “regular” releases, red and white.

What one-offs or unusual bottlings have you tried from Ridge in the past?

I think the Ridge Eisele is pretty rare.
Ridge Beatty also.

1 Like

1971 Ridge Eisele is one of the California legends!

I’ll piggyback and ask about a wine I just picked up. It’s the 1982 William Short Vineyard. I think it’s technically a part of the Monte Bello Vineyard now, but could be totally mistaken and would love to know if anyone knows the story. Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Tasted June 2009:

Ridge has made any number of one-offs over the yrs. It’s because they often use a different block name
from vnyds they’ve worked w/ over the yrs.
They made a PetiteSirah Essence LyttonSprings once (I believe) that they never repeated.
Tom

The William Short is indeed Monte Bello fruit. It was a one off as far as I know and honored William Short who IIRC replanted some (all?) of Monte Bello in the 40’s/50’s? The wine was very approachable young but I didn’t think it had the backbone to be a long ager. Please post a note when taste it. Maybe Tom Hill, Wes Barton or Allen Bree will chime in-they know Ridge.