TN: 2002 Bollinger Champagne Grande Année Rosé (France, Champagne)

2002 Bollinger Champagne Grande Année Rosé - France, Champagne (10/22/2016)
Third time with this wine in the last year or so, and it is consistently excellent. Fresh red fruit flavors, fantastic depth and outstanding length make for a fabulous drinking experience. I could drink this every day.

Posted from CellarTracker

David, how does this compare to other top vintage rose releases [assuming you may have had some] from Bollie?

I’ve been gun shy with this producer…I’ve read so many comments about early oxidation. Yet I find myself interested in understanding the style and producer better based on my love of Champagne. Can someone please help fill me in? Are these wines that are best consumed in their youth (5-10 years)? There seem to be a lot of comments about these seeming farther along in their maturation curve than they should be.

Kirk, Ive been drinking Bollie champagnes for over 30 years and have not had issues like you have heard. One of the best ever was a 1990 RD a few years ago that rocked on and was one of the best of the 1990s I have had and that is saying something bc that was a great vintage and there were many stars.

Their house style is different from most. The best crus are vilified in wood. They as does Krug, have extended barrel aging so there is a bit more oak, but Ive never found it to be cloying or disruptive to the fine bubbly. They have a stock of 3,500 small, aged casks and over 700,000 reserve magnums which allows them to offer consistency of high quality champagnes over time; therefore, the wines are released with a bit of age on them which may explain why some get more oxidative notes, but Ive really not had an oxidised, undrinkable Bollie although that can happen with any house once it has left their cellars.

Their current Special Cuvee is not only drinking exceptionally well now, but is a great QPR IMHO and will age with grace.

Blake,