2014 Scarecrow M. Etain

Got the embossed card today…orders go live October 5, 2016, at noon Eastern, and close at midnight October 9th. $165/bottle. Haven’t ordered in a few years, but have up to 8 bottles…

Who’s in on this?

I’d be interested in picking up a couple/few bottles from someone who isn’t taking their full allocation.

I’m going to grab my full 8.

Love the M’Etain. A great QPR, as I would much rather have 3-4 bottles to drink of that versus one Scarecrow.

Scarecrow is $300 on release, so you’re getting 1.8 bottles of Etain versus 1 Scarecrow.

I have a hard time paying $165 for a winery’s second wine, but I have heard that it’s a very good wine.

Any tastings ?

That’s assuming you have access to Scarecrow at $300 / bt. I would have to pay $500+ per Winesearcher for the 2012 Scarecrow, and 2013 is even higher.

I was thinking of Scarecrow in the secondary at $500+ per. This is my first year getting on their list so if that price point is still there for their '14 regular bottling I am IN.

I do not believe they do tastings (unless you’re the 0.01% and then of course they do)

And the M’Etain is better than 90% of wineries first wines…

I remember getting Scarecrow 2003 for, what, $75 a bottle. Times have surely changed.

In for 6.

But holy hell is shipping getting pricey. I know it’s a bit crazy to talk about high shipping prices when I’m buying six bottles of $165 wine, but to ship 2-day to Chicago costs:

$63 for each two pack ($31.50 per bottle)
$82 for the six pack ($13.67 per bottle)

Agreed. My allocation of 8 is costing me $95, from Napa to San Diego.

I cannot remember what i paid last year but it was excessive because they do not ship to SC so I had to use an alternate shipper. I decided I am skipping it this year, it is a bit pricey for me and there are other wineries I would prefer to support. If I ever make the Scarecrow list I will reconsider.

Website doesn’t work. Can’t advance to order.