South African Wineries

Content consumer & newbie here! I’m helping plan a trip to South Africa. What wineries would you all recommend as must see/taste? Key considerations are:
Home Base: Cape Toown
Winery Time: Three-ish Days

We’re familiar with Stellenbosch, but other areas would very much be of interest.

Hamilton Russell in Hemel-en-Aarde, Mullineux in Cape Town, and Sadie Family if you can get an appointment. Have fun!

Hamilton Russell is terrific. At $25-30, they make one of the consistently best chardonnay values in the world. Good pinot noir as well. But I’m not sure how far that is from Cape Town.

As far as good wineries in Stellenbosch, I like Mulderbosch, Rustenberg, Rust en Vrede. I haven’t visited the country, though, so that’s just what I like as a consumer, and I think those are all relatively larger operations who should be well suited to visitors.

plus one for Mullineux.

If you don’t mind tasting in a dusty old barn next to a large fireplace (my favorite type of tasting venue), then please go to Annandale Wines.

For the history of wine in the Cape region I would visit Klein Constantia … http://www.kleinconstantia.com . Their sweet wine Vin de Constance is a nice wine packing lots of history. As a side trip I would visit the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens … Kirstenbosch - SANBI .

I would add Thelema and Tokara to these because they are so beautiful. Both have great restaurants as well. The terrace at the Tokara restaurant is wonderful.

I would also second trying to get into see Eben Sadie (between Paarl and Malmesbury) and Boekenhoutskloof and Chamonix in Franschhoek.

+2 for Mullineux. Hard to find, but worth the search. (The wines that is; I haven’t visited.)

As for visiting, I recommend Stark-Conde for good wines and a terrific tasting setting.

Thanks so much for the recommendations. I’ll start plotting out a map based on hours and location.