Optimal air time for Heitz 1974 Martha's and 1968 Pinot Chardonnay?

Taking these two wines to dinner weds……I usually like to bring the wines to correct temps and pull the corks at home…then take the wines to the restaurant which is about 20mins away. What do you guys think is the optimal air time for such wines? Any decanting? Thanks! [cheers.gif]

Oh man that is a duo, enjoy Buzz.

We should probably just open it when we get there. In my limited experience with aged ‘legendary’ CA wines, they tend to fall apart after 30 minutes.

I wouldn’t know what to say or recommend for that Chardonnay. Though opening it at home is what would be best, as it may not have much if anything to offer and you may choose to leave it at home. I have no experience with a California Chardonnay beyond 20 years old.

As for the Cab, open it a few hours before, decant, and take it from there. It may need some time, but it might not need much breathing, the decanting may be all it needs. You will have to play it by ear… errrrrr… by palate / nose. I hope it is as good as it once was.

Cheers!

We had the 75 and 78 at a lunch a few months ago and we served pop and pour, no decant. At that age we prefer to let the wine develop in the glass so we can experience the transformation. The wines had been standing up for a week and had very little sediment. Both wines were amazing from the get go.

A few years ago, we regretted not giving a 69 Martha’s more air.

At this point, there’s going to be a LOT of bottle variation in a wine like the 74 Heitz Martha’s. I would double decant it to remove sediment just before you leave for the restaurant. When you get to the restaurant, you can pour a small sample into a glass and decide if it’s ready to go or if it needs significant decanter time at the restaurant. It would be sad if you had decanted it hours beforehand at home and then it had fallen apart by the time of dinner.

Bruce

Where are you dining?

Hi Brian,