A Class Act: TablasCreek & LimerickLane

Just a shout-out for two wineries (of a number) that represent to me what class acts there are in the wine biz:

1. TablasCreek: They always send out a Christmas gift to members of their VinSider club. Something wine related. I always look forward to it cause I wonder what the heck kind of gift they’re going to come up w/ this year. So it arrived ystrday…it is a heavy-weight wine btl stopper (I think) w/ TablasCreek inscribed on the top.I say “I think” because it is accompanied w/ a baggie w/ a rubber crenelated sleeve and two O-rings…the purpose of which escapes me. And the interior of the stopper appears to be able to be removed…for whatever reason. Alas…no instruction manual accompanies the stopper. Jeez…the TablasCreek must think I’m a rocket scientist or sumthin. I’ve got an inquiry in to Darren on operating instruction. But…anywho…TC is very thoughtful to take such good care of their VinSider members.
  2. LimerickLane: I get a Christmas card every yr from any number of wineries. It’s a thoughtful gesture. But this one this yr from LimerickLane was most special. Jake, in a hand-written note, thanked me for my interest in the LL wines and my business. Well & good. But the really special touch…on the other side of the card, in this barely readable kids scrawl, is a special note from Jake’s son, thanking me for buying their wines and identifying himself as Jake’s son. He is, I believe, the one I met several yrs ago when I did a tour of GibsonRanch and his son was obviously a world-expert on tractors. I can imagine the poor kid being tasked by Jake to write these thank-yous and complaining mightly “Awww, Dad…not another thank-you to write”. But, anyway, it was such a special touch that it deserves to be acknowledged and illustrates why LL (who I have followed from the very start) has a special place in my heart.
    Tom

Tom we cannot figure how to undo the top either. Post if you find out.