Barolo buying strategy re 2011.

Curious to hear what others are thinking in regards to buying 2011 Barolo. Frankly, I am surprised at the lack of good deals given the publicity over 2010 (which should have soaked up dome demand) and the strength of the USD. I would have thought we would see some interesting deals come to market.

I understand 2011 is no slouch and might be ready earlier. Having trouble pulling the trigger when prices seem 10% higher. Why am I not seeing deals? Do I need new glasses?

KJF

Personally, I will only buy a few producers that I go with every year. No point in going deep when you can backfill 2007/2008 for less money.

I’ve been sticking to 2010. I figure, since I’m gonna go long on Barolo anyway, might as well get a variety from a great vintage. Especially since prices seem to be really good for quality Barolo.

I have been buying B&B on release strategically for 15+ years. Very good to great vintages only with certain out-performers in lesser years (I.e. 2002 Monfortino). I drink them usually with a minimum of 15 years of age but mostly 25+. Most of what I drink now from my cellar are older vintages I have aggressively purchased over the years. Given that, I have no desire to purchase wines such as the 2011s that I will have to cellar until my waning years for comparably questionable enjoyment.

If you actually want to drink the stuff (i.e. while your 2010’s age), and aren’t hung up on points it seems to be a very promising and consistent vintage. I’m going long especially in the $40-50 range.

This was my initial thought as well. I am just surprised by the pricing - I thought a less hyped vintage might be cheaper. I am keeping my eyes open for the back-fill opportunities when I see them.