NYC in May - Recs appreciated

The wife and I are headed to NYC in May for 4 or 5 nights. I haven’t been in about 15 years and when I visited several times I stayed at a girlfriends place in the Upper West side so my experience is outdated and I have no hotel experience there. The wife has never been. Looking for recommendations on best neighborhood to stay, hotel recs, dinner recs, and wine bar recs. Right now I’m thinking we will stay somewhere in midtown but would rather avoid Times Square area at least for accommodations but I’m open to suggestions. Don’t need overly luxe hotel. Would like to check out some quintessential old school NYC restaurants (Italian, Steakhouse, etc). We will spend most of our time walking various neighborhoods with a couple touristy attractions (Rock Center, maybe Staten Island Ferry).

Any help on these is much appreciated.

Cheers,

I recommend you stay with the girlfriend again! [berserker.gif]

What do you want to do beside eat and sleep? That would help narrow the location.

Ha! Actually that would strangely work if the old girlfriend still lived in NYC (my wife and her have met and neither are the jealous type).

Anyway, we have no real agenda, which we prefer, but we will most likely spend each day leisurely walking around different neighborhoods (midtown, west village, Tribeca, etc), hit up some recommended wine bars/shops (Chambers St. is on the agenda), undoubtedly a little bit of shopping.

Union Square area was recommended as a good home base. I have Keens and Sparks on my steakhouse short list, L’artusi for Italian possibility. Looking for places that won’t have a strict dress code and lacking atmosphere…