Corkage entitlement, now cakeage entitlement.

But what if the cake is already on their list, can you bring it anyway?

Bring a back-up cake, in case the first one is cooked or corked.

Wow. I’ve never heard of bringing your own cake. Especially something from a grocery store. Wine isn’t prepared by the restaurant, and I accept that some restaurants don’t want me to bring wine. But preparing food is the whole point of the restaurant.

I totally understand this: “He didn’t want anyone in the dining room to see it and think it came out of his kitchen,”

Being an ex Chef I can’t tell you how many cakes I’ve cut that the customer has brought in, it was really f**king annoying and time consuming. We charged a nominal fee at the time which was never enough.

I’ve never understood the mentality of a consumer that drives every cost down in a restaurant, which from what I see is what’s going on. If you can’t afford to eat out, eat and celebrate at home. Now, there are occasions and special circumstances (I’m not a total Ahole) so prearrange it with the restaurant as to be transparent and all the tension goes away. To me, even though I’m a paying customer and I should want things ‘my way’ isn’t the way I roll, I’m lucky to be able to dine in a restaurant and consider it a privilege to be able to eat out.

People bring cakes in all the time. Occasionally the cake is even good. Usually it sucks.

How do you celebrate a birthday/cake at a restaurant, I’ve never seen a menu with one on offer - so people bring their own, stick some candles on it and sing off-key. I’ve seen them bring out a modified desert with a candle stuck on it.

At least the people are in the restaurant generating it business rather than at home. Quite a regular thing here in Oz - at the family style restaurants. They’ll usually just give you a knife and some plates and you cut it yourself at the table.