recs for knife sharpening gear?

I have a Chef’s Choice knife sharpener and a steel honing rod that came with a knife set.

I’m thinking about going manual and getting a ceramic honing rod. Any thoughts or recommendations?

FYI: My main knives are a nice french style double bevel high carbon chef’s and a cheapish but pretty effective Rapala filet knife. I also use various inexpensive paring knives and stainless chef’s knives like you’d see in a decent consumer knife set. I use a pinch grip with a tendency to come down a bit too vertical, I use both plastic and wood boards, I hone the chef’s knife every time I start cooking, I cook a wide variety of foods, but I am just a home cook.

Thanks.

Edge Pro

This my opinion, and people will have their preference:

I use a fine ceramic honing rod. This is for touchups. It actually does remove metal unlike steel rods, so don’t go batsh*t crazy using the ceramic like you would with the steel. Don’t copy what you see on TV or at the butcher.

I have a norton 1000/4000 combo waterstone. This satisfies 98% of my sharpening needs.

Then I have a 8000 grit King waterstone with a nagura stone. This makes the edge shiny and mostly only for looks unless I plan to cutting sushi or something.

Muuray Carter has a great video:
http://www.cartercutlery.com/knife-sharpening/%20and%20supplies

Good stuff, keep the reqs coming.

I am an edge pro user. great for keeping the 15 degree angle exact for my japanese knives

Any particular reason you need such a sharp set of cutlery?

Edge Pro is definitely the Cadillac in the world, but for a fraction of the cost I have used Lansky for 20 years without a complaint.

http://www.amazon.com/Lansky-Deluxe-5-Stone-Sharpening-System/dp/B000B8IEA4/ref=sr_1_1?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1412871572&sr=1-1&keywords=lansky+sharpeners

If you need to, they also offer diamond stones.