Prep for first harvest internship

Hello all,

I’m going to be working a harvest for the first time this year. As my background is all on the restaurant/service side of wine, I’m wondering if there are any books or other sources anyone could recommend to provide a base of knowledge for the work I’ll be doing.

Thanks!

https://www.amazon.com/Mens-Fitness-Exercise-Bible-Workouts/dp/0989594017/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1489670913&sr=1-3&keywords=Exercise+fitness

This is the place to start:
50 Useful Tips for New Harvest Interns

Jared,

Where will you be working? Mary’s list and the follow up is all excellent info, but if I had looked at that before my first cellar job, I might have given up before I started. So much to worry about! Every winery is different, just as every winemaker is different. Let us know where you’ll be and we might be able to create a more specific list for you.

Good point, Ed! And though Mary’s list does look a bit intimidating at first, there are a lot of good tips in there.

Brian -
Way ahead of you. My best friend is a collegiate strength coach and is working with me to be as prepared as I can be.

Ken -
Thanks for the link!

Ed -
I’ll be working at Martinelli.

Good choice, Jared. I don’t know their staff, so I can’t say specifically what an internship is like there. Like others have said, make sure you get yourself a good pair of waterproof boots that are comfortable to wear all day, not just the long rubber boots you think of as being winery boots. I don’t know how people wear those for more than an hour at a time and walk around on concrete. And the recommendation about bringing a change of dry clothes (especially socks!) in your car is great advice. Chances are, they’ll teach you everything you need to know, and they’re not going to have you pumping wine and driving the forklift if you’re not ready. They’ll know when you’re ready.