What do you feel the back end of the fermentation gives you?

Do you feel you are getting alot more flavor or just color set and tannins? What has been your experience?

I take this to mean “extended maceration.” Certainly more tannic volume – less angular than early tannins, but lots of it. I have heard the theory that by the time an extended maceration gets through its really lean and mean period, it’s early yeast autolysis that’s starting to have an effect – both protein fining of tannins and contributing polysaccharides. Even so, you may find yourself thinking about chucking an egg white at the extended maceration lot, and if you’re opposed to that idea, that might not be the route for you. Extended maceration lots will consistently skew more toward earthy flavors and show less fruit. There’s more depth and length to the the extended maceration lots, but early press lots have more verve.

I am not a scientist by any means. Having said this, I always believed that extended lees contact allowed tannins to soften and the wine (if of the appropriate varietal) to benefit from any exposure to oxygen exchange via the barrel. If aged in bottle, the environment should still contribute to tannin development in an anaerobic environment.

Now, if the OP’s question refers to the adding of press juice/wine to the original ferment, the astringency and color would receive the desired boost intended by its addition… I think.

Drew, it’s not adding juice, it’s allowing the wine to continue sitting on the skins after the alcohol fermentation has completed to further extract tannin/color/whatever.

In 2015, the winery I was at went for 28 day macerations. The wines were surprisingly not as tannic as I expected and had flavors I’d associate with oak but having yet to see any oak. Some of the best tanks tasted like finished wine as they went to barrel. These were all fully destemmed, high end Bordeaux varieties in Napa.

Thanks for the clarification (Ha!) Nolan!