Ordering online and wine clubs

So I am VERY new to this wine endeavor. Up until about a year ago, beer was the only alcoholic beverage I would drink and usually only stouts, porters or ambers. I tried wine many many times over the past 20+ years and either hated the taste or got an almost instant headache. Last year a good friend’s husband (who is a lover of wine) gave me a bottle of red and after it sat in my dining room for months I finally had to open it when some wine drinking friends came over for dinner. Shock of shock I loved it PLUS I didn’t get a headache, not even after 2 whole glasses. champagne.gif I finally figured out that the headache issue had probably been cleared up by the fact that I’d started taking a daily dose of Claritin a while ago and that the headache was probably a histamine issue.

So in my normal fashion I have gone completely to the other side and am now “into” wine and am trying to learn as much as possible.

Currently my only source for wine and wine knowledge is Total Wine, which is pretty fun to visit and I have met 2-3 employees who seem very knowledgeable and have helped my buy some decent stuff so far. (decent meaning I enjoyed it and that it was affordable for me, not that it was a great find or anything)

I have joined a couple of online newsletters and get regular mailing about wines and what to buy, that type of thing. My problem is that Georgia (my home state) is apparently strange in that beverage places are limited to stocking what certain distributors carry. So whenever I read these newsletters and want to try something I am pretty sure I won’t be able to find it locally. Or I will try something in a local restaurant and will have the same issue, I can’t buy it anywhere.

So I have decided to try buying online but having never bought alcohol online I am very leery. And not being particularly sophisticated about the subject I am nervous about being ripped off as I don’t know what things “should” cost (within reason).